In the food protesting world, Wal-Mart is a biggie. With its low price gig it cuts out many competitors in the industry, making in it the number one grocery store in the nation. Mark Husson, senior food and drug analyst at Merrill Lynch said, “Wal-Mart coming to your village is like the black plague of death arriving.” Looking past the low-quality employee treatment and questionable farmer exploitation, ever since the Super Wal-Marts began to make their appearance across the nation, the superstore has been controlling the food market in ways we could not detect as we reveled in the fair glow of low price spaghetti sauce. I personally feel like I’m throwing all my values out with the rubbish when I enter a Wal-Mart, but ever since watching Food Inc, I have come to the realization that if change will ever happen, we will have to become allies with Wallyworld. They have so much power over the food industry, they can use brute economic force to make companies change their ways. It’s a scary thought and I can’t help but think that many economists would have a serious problem with the concept, but that’s Wal-Mart for you. I write this because my dad sent me this lovely yahoo article: http://finance.yahoo.com/news/WalMart-to-make-sell-apf-659733871.html?x=0, and I can’t help but think that I wasn’t wrong. Do your best to ignore the glaring mistake halfway through.

Also, I am very interested to know if by cutting costs on produce, are they simply cutting middle man costs or will they also give the farmers a little more for their goods?

-Ashley

